Week 9: Pockets

Pockets 3mins 4secs

Pockets took a simple, and genuine question, and turned it into a beautiful sentimental talking piece that I wish everyone had the pleasure of seeing. I’ve never wondered what anyone I’ve interacted with had in their pocket, but after this film, I’m curious, and have a more introspective outlook on life, because you never know what anyone is carrying, realistically or physically. Directed by James Lees, I was impressed that Lee managed to make such a simple question absolutely touch my heart. In summation, the film shows random subjects from off the street as they share with the camera in a most intimate manner about what they have in their pockets and whatever meaning, if any, those objects may have in their lives. Through this very simple act, one was able to learn so much about each subject, as each person’s personality unravel as they talk about the significance of what was in their pocket. The most intriguing subject for me was the lady who carries around a crack pipe and cigarettes which she uses everyday. Putting aside cocaine being illegal, it made me wonder about how many more people like her are probably walking around with that exact same item, looking like the average citizen carrying about their day, and we may never know that they may be struggling with an addictive habit or any other ill. It really put things into perspective for me to slow down and observe the world and people around me, because you never know what battles the people around you are fighting, and you just might miss the opportunity to help someone in need by only focusing on yourself and not taking time to really observe others. I definitely appreciated the music that accompanied this film. It was catchy, with a touch of chimes throughout and had a nostalgic feel to it, which reminded me of my childhood, or just childhood on a whole. Another aspect of this documentary I fell in love with the cinematography of this documentary. The colours captured were rich and vibrant, making it pleasing for me to look at. The subjects were tightly framed in a rather intimate manner with many instances of close ups not only on the item that they had in their pockets, but also of facial features, little quirks and twitches they may have, and other important features. Often times subjects were even partially out of frame, and while conventionally that may be frowned upon, personally, it did not take away from the documentary, but added an interesting edge and look to the film. I’m always fond of filmmakers who can execute breaking conventions and creating their own aesthetic, it immediately makes their storytelling original in my eyes. The edit often was in time with the music and followed a steady rhythm, making the story easy to follow and almost even fun to look at. All in all I believe this documentary was well done and executed and touched my heart. I hope to execute a film that evokes the same kinds of emotions I felt watching this, from my audience.

 

Leave a Reply

